Board of Directors

Colorado Network of Women Leaders / AMI

Kris Binard

Dr. Kristina Binard

Chair, 2018-2020

Associate Vice President of Enrollment Services and Student Support at Front Range Community College

Kris Binard is the Associate Vice President of Enrollment Services and Student Support at Front Range Community College.  Kris was a participant in the 2001-2002 cohort and has been involved on the board since 2004.  In 2005, Kris was trained in Real Colors through AMI and was a facilitator for cohorts 2006-2015.  Kris joined the board as a member in 2016 and became the Chair of the Colorado Network of Women Leaders in 2017.  Kris has been involved in the Association of Leadership Educators, Partners Mentoring Youth, and Girls Leadership.   Her strengths are Maximizer, Strategic and Communicator, and she believes that “knowledge implies a responsibility to act.”  Kris’s research interests include succession planning and leadership.  She is involved with CNWL because of the networking and commitment to supporting women in higher education.  

1- 5x7 Lab Print

Dr. Kristina Quynn

Institute Director, 2019-2021

Assistant Professor, Director of CSU Writes, Colorado State University-Fort Collins

Kristina Quynn is the Founding Director of CSU Writes and an Assistant Professor at Colorado State University—Fort Collins. She joined the Boar of AMI in 2018 after attending the 2017-18 AMI as a participant, where she learned vital leadership skills. Dr. Quynn trained under Lia Franklin and serves AMI as Director (2019-2021) because she recognizes the value of AMI’s high-quality, low-stakes, and inclusive approach to fostering women leaders in higher education.


Dr. Donna Souder

Director Elect, 2019-2020

Chief Strategy Officer and Executive Director of Organizational Development, Colorado State University-Pueblo

Dr. Souder was a member of the AMI 2011-2012 cohort where she first attended a Real Colors training. Today, Donna is a certified Real Colors facilitator and has taught, presented, and consulted on topics including women in higher education, P-20 and external partnerships, workforce development, and strategic planning. Donna is actively involved in the American Association of State Colleges and Universities and is committed to supporting women and underrepresented leadership across academia through her board membership for the Colorado Network of Women Leaders.


Lia Franklin

Past-Institute Director, 2019-2020

Institute Director, 2017-2019

Director Elect, 2016-2017

Executive Assistant to the Vice President of Student Life, Colorado School of Mines

Lia Franklin values the magic of connecting women across higher education.  AMI changed my life as a participant, and since then it has fueled my passion to continue to support women in higher education.  Love the Colorado and Wyoming connectiions, the abiity to be real and have the tough conversations, and sitting in a room with women that get it – priceless.


Dr. Mary Ontiveros

Secretary, 2018-

Vice President for Diversity & Inclusion, Colorado State University-Fort Collins

As Vice President for Diversity, Mary Ontiveros leads Colorado State University’s diversity efforts and reports directly to the President. Ontiveros has been an employee of CSU since 1974, working in leadership positions in Admissions, as a faculty affiliate, and special assistant to the president of CSU-Pueblo.

Deb Lasich

Debra Lasich

Treasurer, 2017 -

Executive Director for Strategic Development, Colorado School of Mines

Deb Lasich is currently the Executive Director for Strategic Development at Colorado School of Mines.  She has been a longtime supporter of AMI, sending over 45 women from Mines to participate in this program, and has also presented at AMI on the topics of women in leadership and reaching professional goals.  Deb has been on the board since 2017 and now serves as the CNWL-AMI Treasurer.


Angelica Rueda

Communications Coordinator, 2019 -

Assistant to Vice President of Enrollment Administration & Student Success, Community College of Denver

Angelica Rueda went through AMI for the 2015-2016 year and found value in the discussions of similarities and vast differences among the group of women in higher education. She grasped a better understanding of how resources flow in and out of institutions and the challenges women face in higher education. 

Michele Prof Picture

Dr. Michele Haney

Board Member

President Red Rocks Community College

I attended AMI in the 80’s and Judy Powell and myself were the first to join from Wyoming.  I cannot tell you just how beneficial it was to connect to women leaders through AMI.  Wyoming in those days, was a bit isolating for women in higher education.  From 2001 to 2003, I directed the Institute, and again enjoyed the opportunity to support the growth of women in our field.

Elena S

Dr. Elena Sandoval-Lucero

Board Member, 2018-Present

Logistics Coordinator 2015-2018

Past Institute Director, 2015-2016

Institute Director, 2014-2015

Vice President, Boulder County Campus, Front Range Community College

Elena Sandoval-Lucero served as AMI Institute Director in 2014-2015, and has been on the Board since 2014. She values the personal and professional relationships that AMI fosters among women leaders. She passionately believes that our future as a profession, and a nation depends upon disrupting dominant narratives about leadership, and developing outstanding female leaders who promote gender, racial, and ethnic diversity, both in higher education, and in the world at large.

April Menzies

April Menzies

Board Member, 2018 -

Dean of Instruction Front Range Community College

April Menzies is Dean of Instruction at Front Range Community College’s Westminster Campus. She joined the board of Colorado Network of Women Leaders in 2018.  Attending AMI (2015-16) was a pivotal experience that illustrated the power of women learning and growing together while providing support for one another.

Prior Board Members

With gratitude for dedicated service, we recognize prior serving board members.

Cindy Underwood-Anderson: AMI Director

Dr. Heidi Loshbaugh

Dr. Melinda Piket-May

Susan Genaro

Reniece Jones